Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

January 16: If you don’t love it, LEAVE!

on January 16, 2012

[Deleted by WordPress]

22 responses to “January 16: If you don’t love it, LEAVE!

  1. Mum says:

    apart from the typo’s, well said Fred!

  2. I too have never been racist, but agree that sometimes you can’t help but get annoyed with them. Some have come here and taken over our country as if it’s their’s and we are suppose to stop living like Australians because it upsets them… Our government has a lot to answer for and they need to start getting tough, so agree with the saying “Don’t like it Leave”… Good topic…

  3. fighterfemme says:

    I agree whole heartedly with you Kloi, I have never been a racist but i am getting sick of hearing that our Aussie traditions are being tampered with because they offend the visitors ( yes if you are not a citizen you are a tourist/ visitor) of our sunburnt country.

    We as Aussies need to let the idiots in power know that we dont want our traditions and culture changed to suit anyone but us, the Australians.

    My Country If you cant change , leave my country . I dont want your war, hate and prejudice here in my home.

  4. Prickels says:

    my bf got told he wasnt allowed in an asian supermarket because he isnt asian… So if they can treat us like that, why cant we?

  5. Ellie says:

    First of all, what is your definition of Australian? I’m assuming you mean Caucasian, which is to say European, as that is primarily where white people immigrated from. Ironically, these non-English speaking migrants you speak so poorly of are likely to be from Europe themselves, so I guess your outrage is really based on how long someone has lived here. So, on that matter, the Aboriginal people (not white, not English speaking), were here first and we are all ruining their idea of the ‘perfect’ Australia.

    As to the matter of language, most countries in the world are in fact multi-lingual. As I said earlier, white people were not the first to live in this country, so why should English be the dominant language? Who gets to decide that? I too get frustrated when I can’t understand someone, and I agree it would be easier if people in customer service had less thick accents, but once again how do you monitor this? If you have ever tried to learn another language then you will know it is not easy, and you will always have an accent. And if we prevented such people from working, then they would be on Centrelink and you would be complaining about that.

    I agree with you about women’s rights. Just remember that those non-white, non-English speaking people you dislike are also comprised of women.

    Once again, I do not know where you draw the line at Australian traditions. The holidays you name: Christmas, Australia Day, Easter, Labor Day Weekend, Queens Birthday, all originate from nations other than ours, except of course Australia Day and Labor Day. As I posited earlier, who are you to decide which holidays are appropriate? Particularly when most of the holidays you name are not even Australian. You state that immigrants are leaving terrible countries, only to bring their own customs with them. Let me put it to you this way: how would you feel if an awful person became the leader in this country? The country you love is suddenly made unbearable and unsafe. If you had to leave to protect yourself and your family, wouldn’t you want to take your customs with you? You seem passionate about them, and certainly should be allowed to practice them whenever/wherever you like. Then why not for people who come to live here?

    Let me make one thing very clear: There is no policy or practice in this country that would ‘give’ somebody a house because their skin is darker. To make such a flippant remark is not clever, its unnecessarily inflammatory. There is another point to be made here which I am sure you cannot be ignorant: there is a much larger percentage of the ‘Australian’ (white, English-speaking population) who collect government benefits such as Centrelink payments, than in migrating communities. With all the misinformation in the media about migrants, let me just clear a few things up. There are some people who move to Australia from other countries with valid skills and wealth, just as we may decide to move to Europe, or similar. Then there is another portion (a much smaller one) made up of people seeking asylum. This means that their own country has become so horrible that they are forced to leave, because staying may mean rape, torture, dictatorship, forced prostitution and even death. The only thing that makes us different from these people is that we were lucky enough to be born here. In most cases, we haven’t worked any harder or done anything better to deserve such a life. These people arrive, and are not given a handout and a lovely house. They are sent to a detention centre for anywhere between roughly 3 and 10 years. Prison, basically. But we are nice enough to give them a shitty bed and some mediocre food. You make the statement that your ascendants didn’t work hard to build them a free country? Well let me ask you this: what have you ever done to deserve it? What work have you put in to help build this country? Or, like the rest of us (me included), were you born here and then worked so you could have more possessions. And do you know what, our ancestors built this country on the foundation of immigration. Sharing our expansive wealth to save the lives of our fellow human beings? Yeah, I reckon that is something our ancestors could be proud of. Or maybe we should just keep that tiny bit of extra tax and let ‘em all rot so we can all have Playstations.

    You are basing your argument on “what one friend said she saw happen” and such comments. You are obviously of this opinion, so you will selectively hear what you want to hear anyway. Colloquialisms are not solid evidence. My evidence is based on fact. Opinion is opinion, but don’t try and disguise it as truth when you haven’t taken the time to look at actual evidence. Migrants don’t want handout. They want dignity, and the right to live without fear, which we have in this country without even having to work for it.

    And finally, I conclude with the remark that it is really none of your business how other people choose to live their lives. Being Australian does not give you the right to dictate the appropriate behaviour of others just because they share your nationality. Have your ‘Aussie’ language and traditions and let others have theirs. I agree, if anyone tries to stop you personally from celebrating Christmas (which has never been the case), then this is wrong. However, changes to National holidays are done so because we live in a democratic society (where the government acts according the wishes of the majority), and as such, decisions are made because most Australians have decided they are appropriate. If you believe your views are being misheard, then I suggest that you have become the minority, and may have to suffer the prejudices you wished upon these people yourself.

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      Hi Ellie. Thanks for your comment!

      Im going to start at the top of your comment and work my way down, more so I can keep track and to make sure I answer all of your questions.

      My definition of “Australian” is when someone asks you what Nationality are you, you reply with no Hesitation, “Australian” (Or some variation)
      This is by no means limited and exclusive to caucasians, for as you said, we all descended from Europe at some point.
      I personally don’t care if you have lived here for 1 minute or 100 years, it is how you identify yourself. I personally never say, “I am English, Dutch, Italian, Hungarian and Australian.” To me, I am Australian, through and through. That is not to say I don’t respect my ascendants and their heritages, it is more that my pride in being Australian and from a Lucky Country runs deeper than most other things.

      Australian English was first spoken by the children born into NSW around the time 1788 (give or take). It was these people who developed and cultured Australian English (Not to be confused with British English). Our language is actually made of a million different pieces of other countries lingos, all dating back to when the First Fleet came out for Van Diemens Land. It is these people who influenced and “decided”, for lack of a better word, what Australia’s language was going to be.
      There is a large number of Aboriginal words used daily – mainly those for native flora and fauna I will admit – so they also had a heavy influence on the Language.
      I do not expect immigrants to not work due to the language, but I do believe more rigorous education to lessen their accents would be a great investment – It would stop a lot of hassles in call centres, retail, business, and basically every aspect in which we interact with Immigrants. If I was to go and work in France, for example, I would study my heart out to ensure that what I said was understandable by the local peoples, in order to minimise both their and my frustrations.

      I do remember that the people I am writing about are comprised of women as well. Please do not think that it doesn’t outrage me when a woman is spoken to by her husband, brother, uncle, whatever, in a manner which is not respectable. I have also defended these women to their husbands or male counterparts they would be with, because I believe NO woman, no matter what her nationality, should be treated as such. I respect that it is their custom in the Country they are from, but over here it is not acceptable, as made plain by the “Abuse Against Women: AUSTRALIA SAYS NO” campaign.

      I am fully aware that the majority of our holidays are adopted. But Australia as a nation, back when Edmund Barton was a prime minister, decided that things like Christmas, Easter etc. were acceptable and would become Australian Holidays as well. I have no right to choose who celebrates what holidays, I respect all of them. For example, the Jews who celebrate Hannukah, The Islams who celebrate Ramadam, or the Jehovas Witnesses who celebrate nothing, I believe have the right to celebrate whatever they want (as I said in the original post). But I have had instances where I have had immigrants who have demanded that I do not say Merry Christmas to them, “it is a ridiculous Holiday and Australia should do with out it!” – but I will point at that this was mainly by Hindis. I have been there while my nephew has had his kinder class to refrain from Easter decorations because an Indian person did not believe in it. So in this instance one child out of a class of 30 had the opportunity to prevent 4/5/6 year old from celebrating in Kinder. Have you asked yourself why we can no longer say “Merry Christmas” but have to replace it with “Merry Christmas?”

      If I had to leave my country due to dictatorship/wars/terrorism, and I moved to one with completely different customs, and I knew that in order to live there peacefully, Yes, I would leave my customs behind. Because I firmly believe that if you are leaving a country due to the horror, then you leave the customs as well, since they are part of the Country you are leaving from.
      If I was having to leave my country due to a reason such as the ones above, I would no longer be Australian, because that is not what Australianism is about.

      I have seen, with my own eyes, a case of where a person was given house due the colour of their skin over my family. How do I know this is the case? Because the real estate said to us “I had my arm twisted on this one. It looks good for us.” That is where I get the “right” to make that statement. My family missed out on a home that they needed – not wanted! – because a family of darker skin in a rental property looked good for the Real Estate.

      As I said in my post, I have the utmost respect for those people who come here to better their lives, their families lives, their kids opportunities. But if you come to Australia, to live, and integrate, why do you not have to “act” Australian, why do you not have to take on Australian Customs? If I was to go to Iran for example, and keep my customs like immigrants do here, I would be stoned to death, shot, sold at a market, spat on, denigrated, raped, or murdered as part of an Honor Killing. I would not be allowed on their Social Security system, because I am not a Native. I would not be allowed to work, own land, drive a car, speak to any males and to be married would be out of the question. Why can Australians not demand the same respect?

      I believe that I deserve the Australian Nationality that my GrandFather fought for because I believe in Australia; I am an Australian to the core of my being. To me, my Nationality is not a right – it’s a privelidge that I do not abuse, disrespect, denigrate or take for granted. I sit out on my back porch and I am grateful for the fact that I know my family are safe in their beds, that there aren’t fighter jets flying over heads, that I can respect and pay homage to the ANZACs, and that I can walk in my local park and not step on a land mine. I love my Country, and would do what I had to in order to protect my families way of Australian Life.

      My ancestors did build this great land of ours on the fo0rmations of immigration. You know what? They would be proud we’re so multicultural! But they wouldn’t be proud that it is being used and abused by some (NOT ALL!) immigrants who flaunt our legal systems and family systems. I would lay odds that they would be horrified, actually.

      Yes, I did base an argument on what I was told by my friend, But it was used as an example. As you will see, I used several other examples that I have had personally happen to me, so that if on the off chance my mate was pulling my leg, I still had a firm knowledge of what had happened to myself that I could fall back on. I did not try and “disguise it as truth.” It is plainly stated “I was told.” which then implies that it is only hear say, it may be true, it may not be true; but if it is, then this is my opinion.

      Your comment of “Migrants don’t want handout. They want dignity, and the right to live without fear,” leads me to ask: have you spoken to every single migrant so you can know this as fact? Or is this an assumption based on a majority poll? If it is an assumption, are you then not passing it off as fact, without having checked every single fact yourself?

      I don’t believe it is my business on how others choose to live their lives. As you said to me earlier this evening, It is a personal blog with my opinions. Being Australian and proud of it does not give me the right to dictate behaviours – but it does give me the right to stand up, and voice my thoughts and feelings. I do not want my children growing up in a society where they lose out because they are not refugees. I do not want my children coming home and saying “Mummy, why can I get excited about Christmas and Santa at home, but not at school?” What are you going to do if, one day, your children come home saying that they’re not allowed to celebrate Christmas at school because (insert religion/nationality/whatever here) find it too offensive and think its wrong? Do you celebrate Christmas? What are you going to do if one day thats not allowed to happen any more? Did you get upset what “Baa Baa Black Sheep was ruled out, and think it ridiculous? This is going to happen one day unless people stand up. Yes, I am only one person. But I will fight for my kids rights to celebrate whatever they want to, if anything at all.

      Ellie, I thank you for your comment. You gave me food for thought, and as I said to you earlier, I will always welcome that. If you think that I am further wrong, please do not hesitate to let me know.

      Cheers,
      Kloi-Jayd 🙂

      • Many immigrants speak English better than you. :) says:

        “Your comment of “Migrants don’t want handout. They want dignity, and the right to live without fear,” leads me to ask: have you spoken to every single migrant so you can know this as fact? Or is this an assumption based on a majority poll? If it is an assumption, are you then not passing it off as fact, without having checked every single fact yourself?”

        In forming YOUR opinions of immigrants, did YOU apply the same rigour that you seem to expect others to apply when they rebut you? :p Or are your own biases equally based on assumptions and stereotypes – the very essence of racism?

        I also have to question how you can possibly claim, on the one hand, that immigrants should learn to speak English, and yet write with apparent disregard of spelling, grammar, punctuation, and argumentative structure. I’m not the first to comment on all of the “typos,” but if you’re proud of the language, then please… do it proud! :p

      • Kloi-Jayd says:

        Hi!
        Thanks for your comment.
        In forming my opinions, I have gone off personal or familial experiences – That is to say, Things I know that have happened myself. The above comment was in rebuttal to a previous comment made by a reader, in order to dispel my opinion. I have not gone off any polls, questionnaires, news bulletins, or the like. It is all MY opinions based on MY feelings.
        Yes, my typos can become quite prevalent, especially when I feel very passionate about what it is I’m typing of. I do apologise for that, and will make sure not to repeat the same problems. Well done on picking something so insignificant and adding emoticons in an effort to “lessen the severity.” 🙂
        As for choosing another Country to live in, I love my country, and won’t leave it in the hope of finding a better one – because there isn’t one. I have no problem with multi-culturalism, as you would have picked up if you weren’t jumping on another readers bandwagon.
        Have a GREAT day, Many Immigrants speak English better than you. :), and I do hope that if you feel the need to comment on my blog again (which I do hope you do 🙂 ) please don’t be afraid to use your real name – unless of course, that is your real name, and your mother was crazier than mine :):):):)

  6. Mum says:

    “Merry Christmas” has been replaced with “Happy Holidays”
    Many discrepancies in the system means that some people are allowed too much freedom, others have not enough, Luckily this is a country of free speech and I am proud to say Australian when asked what my nationality is. If you choose to live here (not holiday) then you should embrace the way of life of the country you choose for refuge, We used to be the lucky country, now we are only lucky for some!

  7. Mum says:

    PLEASE, PLEASE TAKE 5 MINUTES AND READ THIS

    Its one of the best letters I have read for a long time, it puts it ALL into perspective.

    PLEASE PLEASE PASS IT ON to everyone you can, its time BOTH parties stood up and listened,
    This is our country and its being destroyed.

    Subject:The silent majority

    This seems to put into words what I – and I am sure many others of the silent majority – think! It was written by Mrs Jenny Bell of South Australia to Julia Gillard and Tony Abbott:

    To Julia Gillard (Prime Minister) & Tony Abbott (Leader of the Opposition) …

    You BOTH Worry me ! ( In fact both of your Political parties worry the hell out of me !!!)

    Over the last three years, I find myself becoming more and more fearful of the pair of you, and between you, you are turning this country into a place that I no longer feel at home in, or feel a part of! I watch you in parliament, and no, not just the two of you, but every politician that I see, stand up in parliament sneering at each other, and acting like children !!! (..and if you were my children, I would be ashamed of you all … What an example to set!)

    Although you would like us all to believe that you are putting the needs of this country at the forefront, NEITHER of you are doing that, you seem more interested in “one-up-manship “, in scoring off each other, & denigrating each other, to the detriment of this country & its people !!!

    It seems to be all about YOU as individuals, and not about what you can DO for this country !
    It is fast becoming a place that I do not recognize, as the place I always thought, was the best place in the world to be !!!

    But no longer !!!

    You are not listening to the people of this country !!!
    And here in South Australia , your counterparts are afflicted with the same disease – is it endemic in all politicians ?

    I am watching the deterioration of living standards in this country, (and according to you, on a world stage we are doing better than most countries … REALLY ???) … And yet the gap is widening between the “haves” and the “have-nots” . I see our homeless on the streets, our hospitals under-funded, and understaffed, our health system is an absolute mess and a disgrace … And yet I see multi-millions of dollars being sent off shore, in aid to other countries, before attending to this country’s needs !

    I see the “selling off of the farm”, in large amounts, to foreign interests, (In Every State ) including water rights to foreign interests too …. And WHY…?

    Especially when you go to great lengths to tell us that water is a finite resource, & supposedly, we must ALL be careful with how we use it, so that we ensure we have it for the future ?

    Foreign interests “Fracking” for coal seam gas, and riding rough shod over farmers’ rights to their own land, AND USING QUESTIONABLE CHEMICALS. (You don’t even KNOW what chemicals they use), and possibly causing damage to the water table in the process !!!
    And those foreign interests I believe, do NOT have to pay anything in royalties back to this country, for the first five years of their tenure … IS THIS CORRECT ???

    A Carbon Tax,( which you KNOW is just another tax with a “Starting Point dollar value”) which will make NO appreciable difference, to carbon emissions, AT ALL!

    A tax, which in spite of all your arguments FOR it, you are doing alone, when other major countries will NOT & DO NOT embrace it, or believe in it !

    All that it will do for this country is put working families and small businesses behind the eight ball, …..what planet are you on, if you think that your few hundred dollars a year, will make even a scrap of difference to the effect of the carbon tax on people ?Blind Freddy can see the holes in that argument !!! Do you reallythink we are that dumb ???

    The CONVOY OF NO CONFIDENCE was real !!! ..and I haven’t spoken to even ONE person, who would not have liked to be there if they could, but the tyranny of distance and /or work was the only thing that kept them away, ( myself included ), .. and you KNOW that only a part of the convoy was actually allowed to be in front of Parliament house and ON VIEW … the rest were streets away, unreported by the media !

    For Mr Albanese to stand up in parliament, and call it “THE CONVOY OF NO CONSEQUENCE “, in his sneering tone, shows just how out of touch with the people of Australia , you really are !!!! WE WOULD HAVE ALL LIKED TO BE THERE !!!

    DEFENCE …….. Because Americans are our Allies, and we support them in Wars, ……… Korea , Vietnam , Iraq , Afghanistan , ….. and you have sent our soldiers to those places, and our soldiers fought for you, and for Australia …….. some coming home with terrible physical injuries, and some with devastating Mental Injuries as well ….. BUT WHERE ARE YOU, WHEN THEY NEED YOU ?????

    Veteran’s Indexation to CPI only is a disgrace … and is something YOUR Labor party Julia, used as an election sweetener, to get the Veteran’s Vote … BUT YOU LIED (Again) ! You never had any intention of honouring your election promise to them … and it WILL come back to bite you at the next election !!!! (And Tony, Liberals were NO BETTER, Howard had more than 10 years to “fix it ” and didn’t !)

    Veterans are not alone, they have families, friends and supporters, who are heartily sick of the deception your party perpetrated on them ….AND THEY ALL VOTE !!!!

    THEY are your obligation, first and foremost ….. and it is not your first obligation to give aid to every man and his dog overseas first !!! Look after your own FIRST !!!! Is this what you call SALUTING THEIR SERVICE ???

    Have you any idea , how sickening it is for our Vets to see you both, ( Labor or Liberal ) turn up to the funerals of our current young vets for a photo opportunity, to be seen to be “caring ” in the public eye, but only to turn your backs on them all, when they need you ??? (Just ask Breanna Till an Afghanistan Soldier’s wife, how CARING this government is !!!)

    And in light of what you DON’T do for our Vets …….Let’s talk about Multiculturalism ……People have come here from other countries, for a better life, for more years than I have been alive ( I am 65 years old !) … my own family migrated here in 1883, from Germany , and did find a better life …

    Pre & Post war immigrants have came for a better life, and settled in and became wonderful contributors to this country, as did those who came here after the Vietnam War, … all have contributed to the rich diversity of this country, and some descendants have even fought FOR this country, and they have become Australians and were glad to be ..and they had NO handouts from our Government either, …they worked hard for everything!

    I have never before had a problem with all, or any, race of immigrants coming here …

    …….However , I DO NOW !!!

    Please tell me why we have areas like Lakemba, where police do NOT, & will NOT go, for fear of their life ?
    Please tell me why we can no longer have religion in schools, for fear of “OFFENDING” someone ? (The latest little gem is that they are not having, or being funded, for “chaplains ” any more , but “Counsellors “?)
    Please tell me why religious Christmas observances are no longer allowed in some schools for fear of OFFENDING someone ?
    Please tell me HOW Christmas decorations in some stores might OFFEND someone ?
    Please tell me why we have to have segregated days in some swimming centres, for fear of “OFFENDING” someone ?
    Please tell me why we have some RADICAL clerics demanding Sharia Law in this country … when if we were in THEIR country, this would NEVER be allowed ?
    Please tell me why our laws need to be changed, so as not to OFFEND someone ?
    Please tell me why we are fast becoming a MINORITY voice, in our own country, because of POLITICAL CORRECTNESS ?
    Please tell me WHY Australians cannot legally wear a face covering bike helmet into a bank ..and yet it is ok to wear a Burqa which covers the whole face ?
    And please tell me WHY, when those people who want asylum here, can wreck our detention centres, as in Villawood , and STILL be accepted here ?

    SO , in light of the above, WILL BOTH OF YOU ……Please tell me WHY, when some of our Vietnam Veterans FINALLY received (in the last 6 months) the recognition that they should have had after the Vietnam War, (and which they received from the USA & South Vietnam, during and immediately after the Vietnam War), that the families of those Veterans, were refused assistance by this Government, to attend that award ceremony, and yet this Government ….flew , accommodated , and even took on bus tours , to the the families of asylum seekers, after the funerals of those who were killed in the boat which sunk off Christmas Island ?

    What does that say, about just who are this government’s priorities ?

    The Australian people that I speak to have genuine concerns about becoming a second class minority in our own country, and the reasons for it, are some of the above, ….. Are you so blind that you cannot see this ?

    And no , I am NOT racist !!!..(if I did not like Catholics or Protestants would I be considered racist ?) Of course not !

    Why is it, that if we object to what is happening in our country … we are immediately labelled RACIST, in an attempt to shut us up ?

    We are fighting Radical Muslims, in Afghanistan & Iraq , are we not ?I hear you say, yes but the Muslims we have here are “Not like that ” .. well how would we know ? …do we hear ANY of them coming out & speaking AGAINST radicals ?? I haven’t …have you ???

    Islam is not compatible with ANY of the values that we hold here in Australia ! …..Are not the experiences of Britain , France , and the Netherlands an example of that? Why do you think it would be any different here ? We even have an Australian born “radical “, whose message is that Australia WILL become a Muslim country, under Sharia Law, & that we had “better get used to it “.

    Will both of you grow some “Balls “, and start sticking up for this country and its people ???

    We are the people who put you where you are, and PAY you to look after our interests ! … And you are NOT doing that, by any stretch of the imagination !!!

    I would appreciate an answer, from both of you, if only to convince me that once again, I am not talking to a brick wall !!!!!

    In case it has escaped both of you …I would like to remind you that, in Australia the Government … is FOR THE PEOPLE, OF THE PEOPLE, & BY THE PEOPLE …
    never forget that……because you sure have up till now !!!

    Mrs Jenny Bell

    Let us get this out to all – please keep forwarding and if you have people in the press or if you know Politicians – let them know we are dis-satisfied with their behaviour !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    PLEASE SEND THIS GREAT LETTER TO AS MANY PEOPLE IN AUSTRALIA AS YOU CAN, AND IF YOU HAVE CONTACTS OVERSEAS DO THE SAME?

    • Many immigrants speak English better than you. :) says:

      Perhaps people who are unhappy with Australia’s multicultural, diverse, and harmonious society might take a leaf out of their own book, and find somewhere else in the world that is more Anglo-Celtic, white, and English speaking to live. In other worlds…

      (Multicultural) Australia: if you don’t love it – LEAVE!

  8. Mum says:

    PFFFFTTTTTT, I am not unhappy with the muti-cultural Australia, I am unhappy with a givernment too weak to defend our rights because they are so scared of upsetting someone elses.

    Not many immigrants speak better English than Kloi-Jayd, she is quite eloquent when not agitated and she has a phenomenal grasp of the English vernacular.

    I am her mother and I am proud of her, she has the courage to voice her opinion, even when she is aware it is controversial, she is not afraid to be herself, she is my child and she has more integrity than someone who is nothing more than a nameless keyboard warrior!

  9. Mum says:

    *GOVERNMENT (Damn it, ruined my whole rant)
    Insert desired expletives here………

  10. Mum says:

    PS: I have no issue with immigrants in this country, I take offense at ILLEGAL immigrants, there is a difference! I cannot go to asny other country illegally, many would kill me, imprison me, torture me, (the list goes on) but, BUT…. illegal immigrants here are entitled to *whatever, the word entitled says it all*
    Go figure!

  11. Mum says:

    Typo’s must be genetic.. *ANY.

  12. Faye says:

    “But what I do hate, is people who come into Australia – The Lucky Country – and get everything handed to them on a platter, and then expect us to hand away our traditions, religions, and language”. Please define ‘everything’. It has been supported by numerous research articles and community group rallies that anglo-white Australians who are failing in securing jobs, in buying a house after age 25, have weight and income issues in general are threatened by people of other races who they think should be beneath them on in terms of social class. I can send you some of these articles if you like, it’s something I suggest you consider. Again, if your identity is too weak to co-exist with other languages, religions and traditions present then you’re the least Australian of the bunch.

    # 1 – In Australia, We speak English. “The majority of Immigrants from “The old days” came here with the full knowledge that, YES, they would have to learn English”. Which old days are you referring to? Do you have any knowledge of Australian immigrant history, its waves and governing laws, or is it that you just have no respect for the long and hard efforts of multiculturalism. It’s one reason Australia is called the lucky country to begin with. I work on Christmas Island detention centre, (if you even have a clue what that even means), and let me tell you ‘every man and his dog’ does not just come over to Australia. Many get sent home to war, many die on our shores or on their way here, or are in detention centres for years away from their family. Suicide is rife too. Those you have seen at centrelink…. many have been through all of this, its rude for you to assume it was just handed to them. Imagine losing the next 5 years to the Australian immigration process. Imagine being away from all your little sisters I’ve read about, knowing they are locked up too in unknown locations. Would you be learning English in this situation? Do you have a job? How hard is it for YOU in your own country to find a job and keep up other educational activities? Extremely hard.
    #2 – Yes, I am a woman. I have the same rights as you. Feminism has helped women a lot in today’s society, sure. Don’t forget the increased amount of promiscuous girls out on the town in Australia as a result, also the rates of women dying from cigarette smoking has almost doubled compared to fifteen years ago. There are reports of increased rates of relationship related depression in women…. By the way what’s the title of this blog again? Ramblings of a RINGLESS wife. Maybe if you took this foreigner’s cues a little more you’d be married by now. It’s obviously important and a lacking area for you otherwise you wouldn’t have named the blog as such. Also did you ever consider that this man was trying to gauge what the cultural norm for clothing is in Australia? You would do that too if you were unsure of another countries traditions. Presented with a nudist colony of beautiful babes in a foreign country, would you just strip off and go for it? I’m sure you’d try scope the situation out first at least. That’s human.
    #3 – In Australia, We celebrate Christmas, Easter, Hannukah, and any other celebration where an Esky is going to be at .“Let’s be honest: Christmas, Australia Day, Easter, Labor Day Weekend, Queens Birthday. They all loosely translate in to ‘piss up at Dave’s Place!’” To start, Australia has a horrendous drinking and drug taking culture and as a proud Australian for the most part I am ashamed of this cultural norm. Being drunk is seen as an excuse for sleeping with the wrong person and breaking the law. I can totally understand why this would disgust anyone who wasn’t brought up within it. Also it’s not any immigrant family’s fault that Christmas carols aren’t allowed at certain stores for example. It’s the owners of the stores that don’t want to alienate their non-Christian customers. A vast majority of Australians aren’t practicing Christians anyway. Get over it. Play the carols at home.
    #4 – Let’s give this 3BR house to them, because their skin is darker.
    “because your wife wears a burka and your kids don’t speak English, do you get a top-of-the-range house with all the mod cons, when there is a homeless family down the street camping in a tent and taking showers at rest stops?” That is just a plainly disgusting sentence, I’m not even going to go on with this one. It’s obvious ALL non-Anglo Australians, not just immigrants should be in the underclass to you.
    “Here was a refugee (I assume, I do not know) who had come to ‘Sunny ‘Straylia in order to work for a life”. That’s right, you assume. This man may have moved cities not countries, he could be a second or third generation Australian, you just don’t know. Moreover, it doesn’t matter.
    #5 – Give me what I want, or I will call you racist and get it anyway.

    “I have had it often enough myself: “You have to give me free Pizza because I am Indian!”, “You gave me less chicken because I am Filipino!”, “You gave me the wrong change because I am Russian!” and all of these ended with the same two words: “You’re racist!” Every person knows that to get anything in your life, you only have to say “You’re being racist” and you will get it nine times out of ten. And I will not apologise for believing this”. Both my mother’s and father’s ancestors were convicts who sailed to Australia in the last part of the 18th century. I have blonde hair and blue eyes, Anglo-Saxon to the core. If anyone is going to call someone racist when it isn’t deserved – it’s me. When it comes to food, different cultures are prohibited to eat certain meats. Buddhists for example don’t eat any meat at all as it is detrimental to their karma and how they are reborn in the next life. If the Indian’s pizza had meat on it and he was a Buddhist for example, you may as well have put broken glass on it and dipped it in poison. Show some tolerance and immigrants will stop calling you racist. It sounds like you are indeed racist, and the worst kind, someone who is too cowardly to be open about it. Those comments were probably well deserved. I deal with different immigrants from a wide variety of nationalities and religions on a daily basis, and I have NEVER been called racist. I also speak with tolerance and aim to educate immigrants about Australian’s cultural norms when they “cross the line”.
    “Now, before the hatemail and evil comments start – I have made it painfully obvious that I have the utmost respect for those immigrants who come here to achieve a better life for them, or their families. They come to Australia and work to be Australian. They take on our customs, our words, or life style. They LOVE it here.” Your distinction between immigrants and second/third generation Australians is weak at best. You write in a xenophobic nature which is supported by the typos which display your lack of emotional control on this subject. At least show that feminist pride you speak of and own up to being pejoratively racist.
    “This Blog is aimed at the people who come here, expecting a handout because of the colour of their skin or the accent in the voice, and who get it.” There are just as many, if not more Anglo-Aussies expecting handouts. This is human nature and cognitively based, not linked to race. You should watch the documentary “once upon a time in Cabramatta” from start to finish. It will change your world and break that black and white thinking.
    “Has any body stopped to think about how often Australians are discriminated against, for being predominately white?” Anglo-Saxon Aussies ARE discriminated against overseas in some overseas countries. ‘Gringo’ is a term commonly used. However, any Aussie finding themselves on the lower rungs of the socio-economic ladder does not mean they are discriminated against when an immigrant has done well for themselves. I suggest looking inward and changing your own life, instead of pushing others beneath you based on a family heritage or race. No human individual human, race or groups of races can change “us” because the only “us” is all of “us”.

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      Hi Faye! Thanks for your comment on my blog.
      I don’t believe my identity is such that I have to run down other people – I have never been that way nor do I see myself as that way now. I would love for you to send me the articles you’re talking about, my email address is ringlesswife@hotmail.com!
      As for the pro-feminist theories you raise, the name of this blog was more a play on alliterative words than much else. Being unmarried is not that big a deal for me, as my partner and I have been together for longer than most marriages last.
      I do not wish to take a leaf from anyone’s marriage principles, other than my own and my partners. We have plodded along quite happily for nearly 6 years, and we each have the same rights that married couples do.
      My points that I have raised are ALL from personal experiences – excluding the one that I was enlightened to by my friend. As previously explained to a commenter, this is why I have placed my own experiences in the same category.
      I will look up that documentary you mentioned, as I am genuinely interested in expanding my horizons.
      I do apologise for the brevity of this reply, but as my house has guests and I am working, I cannot expand much further at this time. However, if you email me through the articles, I look forward to discussing this in deeper detail.
      And just so you know, I am aware of the Christmas Island Detention Centre. Just because you and countless others are happy to place me in an ill-informed and racist bracket, does not mean I am.
      Have a great day!

  13. Trevor says:

    mmmmm this is a terribly written piece. I very much doubt you have the education or worldy experience to back any of this up with evidence Ringless wife. I would even go to say that some of your ‘experiences’ are complete made up lies. It screams of personal discontent. I hope you find peace. Namaste.

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      Hi Again Trevor. Thanks for your feedback on how my blog was written. If you would care to give me some pointers I will happily take them on board.
      But as for assuming my experiences are “lies” I do believe you have already gone into the reading of the blog with some pre-conceived ideas. I also believe that I would be hard pressed to find a better outlet than a personal blog. Thanks very much for your feedback!

  14. Beth R. says:

    When I first read this, I generally agreed with what you were saying, the sentiment that people who move here should assimilate seems entirely reasonable. However I am happy to say that after reading Ellie’s and Faye’s comments I have come to see that my previous thoughts were simplistic and I have come to change them.
    With regards to point 3, I was struck by Ellie’s comment that if we were forced to leave our country, wouldn’t we want to take our customs with us? Absolutely I know I would, I would highly resent being forced to change the way I dressed to assimilate to a Muslim country whose religion I didn’t subscribe to, if I had been forced to flee there from persecution. The great thing about Australia compared to other countries is that we do have freedom of religion which means that people who have grown up in a culture/religion their whole lives have the choice to keep following their traditions. These traditions should not be applied to our whole nation of course, but that is not happening and our leaders won’t let it happen. The pressure to exclude Christian traditions from our society comes mainly from atheists, and people’s discomfort with a lot of what the Bible teaches. This can be seen if you look at the comments section on any post discussing religion on http://www.thepunch.com.au. We are worried about offending people who subscribe to no religion and who want their children to be taught ethics instead of religious education in schools. This is a fair enough view to have with regards to separation of church and state, it just shouldn’t be blamed on minority groups.
    In response to point 4, I got to know some refugees who had recently moved to our town a couple of years ago, they had spent their whole lives in camps and had lost family in there. They received welfare and were in a rental property (which was by no means fancy, I wouldn’t have wanted to live there) which had been assigned to them. They had no qualifications, spoke a little English which they were working on, had no drivers licences or anything that would help them find a job easier. I would suggest a lot of refugees are in this position, and that confronted with these obstacles, finding a job takes time. It can be hard to find work without any obstacles in your way in this economic climate.
    Finally I can’t say I have every been discriminated against as a white Australian, and know of no instances in my personal sphere where somebody has.
    Thanks for posting this, and through it, allowing me to gain some insight and change my mind about something.

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      Hi Beth! Thanks for your comment!
      While I haven’t changed my view point I have taken what was posted by both Ellie and Faye into consideration, and have adjusted more than changed, some view points.
      If I was forced to leave Australia due to the country becoming unsafe for me and my children and family, I would not enjoy having to leave the customs I hold dearest behind but I would accept that in moving to and assimilating into a new Country I would have to let go of them. As it is what I believe to happen over here, it is what I would do over “there.”

      With your response to point four, I have no reason to deny that they work awfully hard in order to get to Australia, and that is one of the things that frustrates me the most. Why would they go through all sorts of trauma, such as camps, if only to come here and try to bring that which they were wishing to run away from? I have seen, and experienced, what they immigrants have been given. An Indian family came to an area just outside of town, and they were quite open with me about the fact that they had just moved into a brand new home, 5BR and all the mod cons, as well as receiving quite a large amount from Centrelink (“Because the silly fools just give you want!”)
      Their broken English was portrayed as being an “annoyance to learn” and they had no wish to learn to speak it properly.
      This person went so far as to say as he never wanted to work, because why should he have to when Centrelink will pay him to sit by the weir every day?

      I have been discriminated against, as have family and friends in my personal life, because I was white and Australian.

      Thanks for your feedback Beth, I am glad you gained some insight and were able to see things in a different light for you 🙂

Have Your Rambling Say!

