Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

January 18: The Kindness of Strangers.

on January 18, 2012

” I will always depend on the kindness of strangers.” – Blanche DuBois, A Streetcar Named Desire.

I was always taught to help those in need – especially the elderly. My biggest shock in life was when I moved to a city (in comparison to my home town) and I saw the amount of people who would rather step over a person in need than help them. To say I was disgusted is the biggest understatement.

To help a person is not a hard task. Even something as holding a door open for a person with a pram or an old lady with a trolley is usually appreciated very highly.
But to walk over a person who needs help is just… horrid. It is uncaring, unfeeling, and most of all, unhumanly.

Yesterday, this popped up on my news feed:

What would you have done in this instance? Would you have stopped to help the woman and the animals, or would you have turned away, ignored the issue, and gone back to your coffee?

Personally, I would have gone to help. I have to admit, the animals would not have been my first thought – mine would have been the elderly lady.

Every time I help a person, I do it for the same reason: If it were my sister, mother, brother, father, grandparents, whatever, I would be happy that someone out there would have the common decency to help them. Just last week, I helped an 80-odd-year old woman load her shopping into her boot. She had been visibly struggling with it, and a multitude of people had wandered on by, on of them even stopping long enough to say “looks like you need a hand!”

Umm, excuse me doodle-head? You can say that and then not offer to help her? MORON!
Even if the lady hadn’t wanted help, at least you could have offered!

So anyway, I helped this lady, and she said “Thank you so much. It would have taken me so long to do it by myself!”
I left feeling good that I had helped this nameless lady, but saddened by the fact that so many hadn’t. Why hadn’t they? Was it only my mother who taught her kids to help those who need it?

I am determined to teach my children that to help a person costs nothing, that holding a door open for a person is common courtesy, and that if ever an elderly person is around you treat them with the deference that you should.

When did the human races mind becoming so self-focussed? Is it now considered abnormal to help a person in need? I apologise in advance to whomever this may offend, but WTF? Seriously, how can people go through life never going out of their own way to help another?

My Momma taught me that to help other people is not something you pick and choose, so to speak… you help whoever needs help! If that’s a lady down the street with shopping, or a friend who rocks up on your doorstep at 2am, or even a person you have never met who has fallen down in the street, you help them and you smile through it GoshDarnit!!

Do you help random people?
Have you ever been helped by a stranger?
Make sure to leave me your comments!

 

4 responses to “January 18: The Kindness of Strangers.

  1. Mum says:

    I love you

  2. Michelle Rogers says:

    Thanks for mentioning me Kloi-jayd, it’s a real shame to see the way people speak to others these days, a little more respect would go a long way.. I especially think we should all respect our older generation, l think they had it a lot harder then us and if it wasn’t for them we wouldn’t have the wonderful Australia that we have today…

  3. Kloi-Jayd says:

    no probs michelle. you provided a very good back drop for me! xo

Have Your Rambling Say!

