Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

February 10: The Lord Giveth… and the Lord Taketh Away.

on February 10, 2012

Today has been a mixture of emotions. Even now, I am unsure as to what I am feeling.

Today is my wonderful partners Birthday. 250.00 worth of flight vouchers and a 3lt bottle of Blue Heaven topping make some pretty awesome presents! (You can mail me the “Cool Girlfiriend Of The Year” award.) We went out for a dinner that was, in all honesty, mediocre. But I got to spend some time with him at least, so for that I am grateful. His day at work seemed to be good for the most part so I guess the birthday luck travelled with him this morning!

However, while we were out the news reached us that an old work colleague, just in his early twenties, had been a fatality in a single-vehicle accident at our local weir. He lost control of his vehicle, leaving it unrecognisable. Lloyd was some one that while I only worked with for a short time, left an impact. You didn’t leave a shift with him unless you were smiling, and that was something that was noticed by staff and customers alike. He was a valued member of his church, his community, his friends and his family.
It made me think of what his family would now be living with, and the void left behind. Lloyd was a careful and conscientious driver, firmly believing that speeding was not a risk to take. If these are the questions rambling through my mind, what must be going through his family’s? Instantaneous death may be a comfort to his family, but you have to wonder – is it the comfort they need?

Before dinner had even ended, we received news that another friend’s wife had passed over as well. To be fair, she was in palliative care but I do not believe that would have made it easier for anyone. I am sure Sammy and his family are feeling the grief, loss and loneliness that Lloyd’s family are experiencing now. Sammy is an elderly gentleman, and I now wonder how he is going to get along without his wife.

Sombre as dinner was, we still managed to have some laughs and smiles, and ended it on a note that wasn’t too sad. I don’t know who was acting harder, Daniel or I. What do you do when a birthday celebration is marred? I know that for the rest of our lives we are going to remember the sadness of  two families as we celebrate the birth of Dan.

On the way home, I received news again, however this one was decidedly happier: A friend of mine and his wife had just welcomed their son, Malakye, into the world. A bouncing baby boy who I am sure will be just as beautiful, valued and loved as his parents are. His Dad, Michael, helped me through a difficult stage many years ago and it is something I have never forgotten. Welcome to the World, Malakye. I hope your life is as blessed as your parents is!

Tonight, even though I am about as religious as a brick, the quote “The Lord Giveth and the Lord Taketh Away” has been ringing around my head. Two souls have departed this world, to go to wherever it is they do… but a tiny, new one with the potential to rule the world has entered.

It has shown me that the world always turns; as people’s time is up, some one else’s is just beginning. While someone has had their heart ripped out, somebody else’s has just doubled  in size.

Each day is a precious gift. What it brings will never be known until it happens. It may start with sunshine, and end in rain. Or a storm may greet you in the morning, just to leave you with a rainbow.

To Lloyd’s and Sammy’s families – nothing but the utmost sympathy is felt by all in our household.

To Lloyd – I hope you have found what you have searched for your entire life.
To Mrs. Cirillo – I hope your pain and suffering has lead you to a greater place.

One response to “February 10: The Lord Giveth… and the Lord Taketh Away.

  1. fighterfemme says:

    the song ‘ Two teardrops’ is my version of the god taketh and giveth away.

    (Bill Anderson/Steve Wariner)

    Two teardrops were floatin’ down the river
    One teardrop said to the other
    I’m from the soft blue eyes of a woman in love
    I’m a tear of joy she couldn’t carry
    She was so happy she just got married
    I was on her cheek when she wiped me away with her glove
    I could tell from the look on her face she didn’t need me
    So I drifted on down and caught me a ride to the sea

    The other tear said we’ve got a connection
    I’m a tear of sorrow born of rejection
    I’m from the sad brown eyes of her old flame
    She told him they would be lifelong companions
    Left him with questions and not any answers
    I was on his cheek as he stood there calling her name
    I could tell he had a lot of my friends for company
    So I drifted on down and caught me a ride to the sea

    Oh the ocean’s a little bit bigger tonight
    Two more teardrops somebody cried
    One of them happy and one of them bluer than blue
    The tide goes out and the tide comes in
    And someday they’ll be teardrops again
    Released in a moment of pleasure or a moment of pain
    Then they drift on down and ride to the sea again

    Last night I sat in the waiting room
    The nurse walked in and gave me the news
    It’s a baby girl and they’re both fine
    An old man sittin’ not 10 feet away
    Just lost his wife and he said to me
    You’ve got a brand new angel and I’ve lost mine
    I guess the good Lord giveth and the good Lord taketh away
    And we both wiped a teardrop from our face

    Oh the ocean’s a little bit bigger tonight
    Two more teardrops somebody cried
    One of them happy and one of them bluer than blue
    The tide goes out and the tide comes in
    A whole new circle of life begins
    Where tears are a part of the pleasure and part of the pain
    ‘Til they drift on down and ride to the sea again

    Two teardrops floatin’ down the river
    Two teardrops floatin’ down the river

Have Your Rambling Say!

