Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

February 28: Darling, Leave a Light on for Me!

on February 29, 2012

I live in a semi-rural city where our main claim to fame is the ridiculous amount of traffic lights, and the fact that we are on the border of NSW and Vic.
So a few months ago, when I saw a poster saying that Belinda Carlisle was coming to our little suburb, I just knew I had to get there.

As my mum was still a baby when she had me, I grew up with 80’s and early 90’s songs and learnt to accept them as gospel. Transvision Vamp, Wham!, Merril Bainbridge, Tori Amos, Cyndi Lauper, Belinda Carlisle… You get my drift?

Of course, once I hit my teens I developed my own pop-tastic taste for whatever was the in thing at the time. But I always stayed true to the love of the 80’s and early 90’s that my Momma instilled in me.

So last night I prettied up and made my way to the Kinross and met with my lovely Jodie, ready to dance the night away.

.
Both of us were in need of a good night to let out our hair and dance along to the songs we loved.

The support band were great, they had us pumping, singing, fantasizing and ready to bounce. They also afforded us the chance to get to the front of stage with relative ease. (By the way, sorry to the old woman who was bitching at me because I’m “so tall” and I was in your way. Next time, maybe say please and I will possibly move – telling me to eff off will do nothing more than entice me to piss you off more. And tall? Puh-leeze! I had thongs on and being 5″4′ is NOT tall by any standards).

After about an hour of eye candy singing and dancing and generally doing the hyperactive thing all women do when they know whats coming on the stage next, The support band wound up and I knew that I was about to have some people try to push me out of my front row spot. So what does any self respecting fan do when they know that’s going to happen? They park their butt on the speaker boxes at the front of the stage.

This allowed someone else to have a front row spot while I had an even better spot. You want to know how good my position was? Belinda Carlisle needed a pedicure, STAT!

I was singing (albeit, very very badly) with all my might, dancing as well as I could without giving up my vantage spot, and getting right into it… some would say too far by my flailing arms and booty flying everywhere, but hey, I was having fun!

As you do in the front row, you raise your hands when your favorite songs come on. So at this point, I would like to ask, who has gotten to hold Belinda’s hand? Oh, right, I HAVE!!! (P.S – I swear she must sleep in kid gloves with how soft her hands were… it was a little odd.)

The tunes were pumping, and Jodie and I were having an awesome time – it was exactly what we needed. And then, Jodie was spoken to…

“Do you know the words to this song? Do you wanna sing with me?”

I don’t think I have ever seen Jodie’s eyes as wide as they were at that stage, and her mouth just dropped before she started singing with every thing she had inside. Jealous Much? Uhhhh, YEAH!

Standing there, belting out the songs I grew up with, was a night that needs the dictionary of adjectives: exhilarating, amazing, fantastic, fun, loud, and a million other adjectives.

I was dancing so much that sweat had saturated the ends of my pig-tails, Jodie’s hair was just as wet – we were both so pumped and just happy. I think it was exactly what we needed.

Come dance with me, Baby, in the Summer Rain…

4 responses to “February 28: Darling, Leave a Light on for Me!

  1. Caroline says:

    I have just one thing to say to you 😛

  2. Caroline says:

    That was supposed to be an un-happy smiley 😦

  3. Mum says:

    Glad you liked it. I love you

  4. Jealous beyond imagination! But…. You going is kinda like ME going, only it’s you 😉 Bahahahaha
    Glad you had a ball.

Have Your Rambling Say!

