Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

March 13 : Melbourne, Melbourne, how I love you Melbourne!!!

on March 14, 2012

Ahhhhhh, Melbourne.

A lot of people have a city that they feel is theirs: for Daniel it is Sydney, for another friend it is Adelaide. For me, it is Melbourne. I don’t spend a lot of time here, seeing as we live a good 3.5 hours away from it, but I still love it.

I love how power suits meet with grunge Boho and create a perfect ensemble of city chic that never looks out of place. I love how Gucci meets St. Vinnies, Straight meets Gay, and Lawyers meet Buskers, and no one bats an eye lid at it.

I love how, after walking out of my hotel, I am assaulted with a conglomeration of smells that are all definable but meld together, almost achieving perfect synchronicity: curry chicken, garlic squid, the eleven secret herbs and spices, carbon monoxide, Drakkoir Noir, Chanel no. 5, B.O… It all forms a smell that is garnished with hustle and bustle.

Joggers are side by side with the huffy and puffys (like me!) and a Ball Gown will be worn in the middle of Federation Square if the person so chooses to.

There is a culture here, that once you have perfected the “eye-slide,” you can enjoy to the fullest.
You never know what you’re going to encounter when you walk out of a door: will you see a grandmother dressed in hipster clothes with the biggest bouffant you could possibly see, or will you see a dog who is taking his owner for a walk, instead of the other way around?

You just never know. You don’t know what the weather will be (Hello, Four Seasons In One Day!), you don’t know what you are going to see on a street corner, you don’t know If that man next to you on the train used to be a woman, and you quite honestly don’t care.

Melbournians are reknowned for their ability to accept whatever is in their way for the day. They are laid back, accepting of whatever comes in to their sphere, and have the perfect “don’t touch me” walk that helps them look like the powerful, poised people they generally are.

But my favorite thing about Melbourne is the hustle and bustle. I handle it much better here in Melbourne  than I do anywhere else; Even in Albury I get panic attacks at Christmas Time Shopping. But in Melbs, It feels as though It is not that crowded at all, and the 3.5 Million people who live here are just extensions of the impressive and imposing buildings.

Knowing that there is always something on (for example, concerts, markets, festivals,  or the fantabulous Luna park) mean this place is a Mecca for the ones like me who are consistently bored and always on the mission to find something to do.

Melbourne:  the land of Power-Suits and eclectically gorgeous bohemian individuality.

One response to “March 13 : Melbourne, Melbourne, how I love you Melbourne!!!

  1. Boo says:

    That’s y I love Melbourne and the shopping and I also like to see if I can ever find the person who dresses up like astro boy in Burke st Hahahaha and ya don’t need a car to go every where

Have Your Rambling Say!

