Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

March 14: We are the cartoon Heroes, WHOA!

on March 15, 2012

Growing up, Aqua and their songs were like my idols and my anthems.

I remember the first single I ever bought with my own money was Dr. Jones, and I bought that in Hobart and was so proud of it, Playing it every day as loud as I could while my grandparents weren’t home.

For my birthday, Dan bought me tickets to see them live in Melbourne. I don’t think he could possibly have bought me a better present – he managed to collide my adult life with my child-life, and they melded together as if it hasn’t been years since I first heard “Barbie Girl” and was grooving in front of my mirror to it (singing into my hairbrush, of course!)

Last night, was that night.

The sheer exhilaration when they finally walked on stage was worth the four hours wait, and the show put on would have been worth waiting a week for. It was energetic, frantic, and just plain old AWESOME!

Having been bought their new album (signed no less!) for my birthday from Mel, I was already pretty well versed in their new songs, which have taken on an extremely high rate of trance themes. I like the fact that they have molded with the change of music!

The second song they played was Cartoon Heroes – one of my favorites (tied with Dr. Jones of course!) and while I wanted to record it, I believe that would have been impossible with the way I was jumping, screaming, singing and going off my rocker like a pork chop in a synagogue.

I spent nearly two hours completely enraptured with the performance – each old song bringing back memories of times spent coreographing, watching, mimicking, laughing and being a child. It was brilliant. My face hurt from the huge grin I had on my face the whole time!!!

To have my child hood idols in front of me, singing songs that I still know all the words to, was a pinnacle that I haven’t reached before. It was like for the 1 hour and 45 minutes they played, nothing mattered – I was encapsulated within a world of songs, dance, memories, fun and happiness. WW3 could have broken out, and I don’t think I would have cared because I was in such a happy place (even with the rude bitch in front of me).

Living in the past for a little while was everything I have ever wanted. Aqua brings back to me a time when the world was a lot more simpler and easier to live in.
Aqua got me through a lot of angsty years and seeing them last night was like all my child hood dreams had come running to me, arms flailing, screaming “WE’RE AT F***ING AQUA!”

It was perfect. It was breath taking. It was as if the world had stopped turning for just a little bit, allowing me to catch my breath and bring back the happiness that is in a teenagers heart when their favorite song is on the radio.

I was at Aqua. Nothing else mattered.

And yeah, the hand waving like a maniac? That’s me.

4 responses to “March 14: We are the cartoon Heroes, WHOA!

  1. Mum says:

    Made me cry knowing you were so happy! The waving hand is a ripper.
    Love you up the sky, down the ground, round the world, a thousand!!!

  2. Tegan says:

    reading your post made me so happy for you! im hoping to get to BSB & NKOTB… and i imagine i will be exactly the same then LOL

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      Hi Tegan! It was definitley the most amazing thing. I hope you get tickets to BSB and NKOTB, I tried and they were sold out! sClub7 comes back this year so i will be going to that if i can!!! thanks for reading! xxx

Have Your Rambling Say!

