Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

March 23: Fairy Bread will always be the ruler of the Party.

on March 23, 2012

When I turned 21, my grandparents and parents put on a spread for my 80s themed shindig that consisted of the most delicious fare. We has homemade sandwiches, sausage rolls, quiches, brandy snaps… you name it, they probably made it.

But the best thing on my food table was definitely the one and only FAIRY BREAD!!!

Now, at every party I do, be it a party-plan or a bbq, I always have fairy bread. The odd thing is that it is rarely the kids who go to town on it – it’s always the adults!

Can anyone explain to me why adults will always shoot straight for the colorful triangle of sprinkled delight? It’s the same with little boys (or cocktail frankfurts, for my non-Aussie readers) : People tend to go straight for them before most other things.

In a study I performed (by which I mean I did NO actual study or research but merely thought about my own responses) I found that I believe it’s due to the innate knowledge that those two pieces are party food are just plain old awesome. End of Story.

Doing cake decorating, as I do, I quickly learnt that it doesn’t matter how much work and effort I have put into a cake, if there is fairy bread anywhere on the table, no body gives a flying rats butt. Why? BECAUSE THERE IS FAIRY BREAD! The sad thing for me though, is that I completely understand the thinking behind the choice. If I had to choose, it would be fairy bread hands down, no questions asked, just pass me the damn plate please and don’t expect it back.

I suppose I could go deeper into the thought and expand on the nuances of the brain and how it clings to childhood memories. But I can’t be bothered. So you will just have to accept my “It’s Awesome” Theory and run with it. I bet not a lot of you are arguing anyway.

One thing I did think about during my in-depth “study” is that Fairy Bread is never square. For it to be true Fairy Bread, it has to be a triangle, non? Please feel free to refute this discovery.

I remember Mum putting on my  7th birthday and there being little boys, party pies, sausage rolls, cheezles… All that cool stuff. But the main thing I remember is the tower (yes, tower – my mum rocked!) of Fairy Bread that was on a plate in the centre of the coffee table outside. I don’t remember ever having a party without it. My kids will also have this haute cuisin at their parties.

Fairy bread is one of the items that go out of style for being baby-ish at about 13, but comes back through no effort at all when you’re about 22. It like how kids will stop watching CareBears at about 11 or 12, but by 17 they have the “coolest back pack ever” with a huge Care Bear on it. You might stray from your life long marriage to Fairy Bread, but you will always return.

Fairy Bread is one of the most exquisite things you can put in your mouth. It’s almost as fun as Diet Coke and Mentos at the same time!!!

Have Your Rambling Say!

