Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

April 18: Oh! I recognise you from your weird name!

on April 18, 2012

I am one of those people who is blessed to be owner of a name so unique that I am the only person on Facebook with it. Also, if you google “Kloi-Jayd” on Google Images, all the pictures that come up on the first four pages or so are of me, or my friends, or off my blog.

I am also the owner of a name which, when entered on most web sites, is classed as invalid. Thanks Mum, I love you too!!!


Now, Mum does have a reasoning behind my phonetic spelling – I believe it’s to do with her aversion to silent H’s and that “Ch” is to be pronounced such as it is in “Chair.”

It is a widely accepted that should you comment on my name, I will tell you my Mum was on Crack*. Especially if you start the sentence with “Oh, wow! How do you say that?”

Only in the last couple of years have I embraced the stumbler that is my name and learnt that it is part of me and my identity. I now give people the grace period of once to get my name wrong – and if you get it wrong repeatedly, I won’t answer to it. I sat in a doctors office once staring holes through my GP because after seeing him for over 3 years he still called my name out as “Kloy-Jayd vanRoovin.” When he motioned to me that it was actually my appointment he was after I exclaimed “Oh, you mean Kloi-Jayd vanRoevan! I thought it must have been someone with a similar name to me and got all excited at the prospect!”

I have to admit though, that it has turned me off originally spelled names. Luke and Jane, come to your Momma! (My kids will get to have things with their name on it!)

I love my name now, but I do get a little tired of the consistent questions about it’s spelling, it’s origins, how my parents came up with it, yadda yadda yadda. They’re usually quite put off when I tell them that my mum made my first name up coz she was on Crack and that my last name came from a name change made by a wanker years ago. And yes, they are the words I use.

I don’t know what’s worse though: The constant questions about my handle, or the “Hey! I recognised you from the whacked out spelling of your name!” And because my middle name is also one that is combination of my GrandFathers and the sounds of one of my fathers friends name, I get a lot of people confusing that too. It’s pronounced “Ron-ay” not “Renee, Ronny, Roneye” or any other weird ass sound you come up with.

I can honestly say that I love my name. I love the individuality that it has given me. I love knowing that no one can even spell my name let alone do my signature. I love knowing that people stumble over it. I love knowing that I am the only one with it on the Facebook world.

What do you think on different names? Do you love them, hate them, or are indifferent to them?

*My Mum actually wasn’t a crack head. I just like making people uncomfortable.

2 responses to “April 18: Oh! I recognise you from your weird name!

  1. Mum says:

    Doodle child you are.
    I love your name!!!!

  2. Well, considering you gave it to me I should bloody well hope so!

Have Your Rambling Say!

