Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

April 26: Venus Palermo: A young girl playing or a young girl taking it too far?

on April 26, 2012

I was trolling through youtube the other night and came across a video entitled Perfect Skin In Minutes. Being the owner of less than perfect (ok, horror smash) skin, I clicked on it to have a look.

Enter Venus Palermo.

OK, I’ve just sat here for 5 minutes thinking of a way to word this piece so that, if by some small chance the 15 year old comes across it, I am not being nasty. That line alone should give you some idea on my feelings.

Venus is a stunning teenager with looks that most teens (and adults) would be green with envy over. But unlike most teens’ YouTube videos containing Peanut Butter Challenges or a mash up photo collection of Edward Cullen, her videos are all on beautification and how to achieve “Doll” looks. I was honestly gobsmacked, but drawn in at the same time.

The 15 year old Hungarian has a distinct “Anime” accent, mimicking the movements and cuteness in a way that makes you wonder how she has perfected it.

Her Chocolate Cake Mask is innovative, as is her Perfect Skin In Minutes (Linked above), and is made from items found in a general kitchen. I think these tutorials are good for those people wanting a face mask on a budget and with natural ingredients. But it wasn’t these videos that had my head spinning like the girl from the Exorsist.

It was her videos such as “How To Look Like A Puppy” and “How To Look Like A Doll” that really had me questioning if what in the Sam Hill I was watching. At 15, her make up changes her looks to about 12 – and sincerely worries me when I consider online Paedophiles or the like who must be loving the 5 minute average videos she uploads.

Venus’ bow lips and stunning eye colour are over shadowed by the layers upon layers upon layers (no exaggeration on the layers, either) she covers them up with – not to mention the contact lenses.

I do not want to sit and slam the girl for finding a look which she feels works for her, and which she has made her own. But I cannot help but wonder how far will she take her obsession? Is she going to end up another Heidi Montag, who started out stunning and ended up looking almost unrecognizable from her former self?


She has some fun and funky make up ideas, such as the 100s and 1000s Lip Gloss – but the radical changes in her looks, which she teaches you how to achieve, make me wonder what is hidden underneath her quirky, cute, Hara-Juku sounding persona.

Her post, entitled Wow! They’re Huge! is delightfully misleading, and I wouldn’t have picked up on it if I hadn’t have just spent the last two hours watching her videos. The snapshot of the video (shown when the video is in the list) has a photo of her boobs with a big, barely covering, “Censored” line through them. She is reviewing some new contact lenses in this video, but when every other review piece states the name of the lenses followed by “REVIEW” along side a photo of the lenses, you can see she is using her body to up her viewers. I am sure I am not the only one who is wondering for this teenagers safety.

I have linked any videos I have referred to, so you can go and watch them if you so choose. I would love your opinion on this matter, do you think she is perfectly fine, or do you feel that there is something not quite right? I would love opinions on this matter, as I may just be in over protective big sister mode…

6 responses to “April 26: Venus Palermo: A young girl playing or a young girl taking it too far?

  1. Jaen Wirefly says:

    Looking like “dolls” seems to be a makeup tend for girls. It’s part of a style that started in Japan:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lolita_fashion.

    It’ll come and go like all trends.

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      Hi lovely! Thank you for the link, I checked it out 🙂
      I do agree that it is a trend, but I am more worried about the safety (or lack thereof) that this girl may be flouting…

      • Jaen Wirefly says:

        YW;) There is something a bit “perverse” about this trend. But some teens dress like hookers so perhaps this is a bit better.

        The mother is correct, it’s better her daughter comes home dressed like a doll than pregnant.

      • Kloi-Jayd says:

        i did agree with her there 🙂

  2. Mum says:

    OMG, your sister is a doofus!!
    I hadnt seen the footage!!!

Have Your Rambling Say!

