Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

May 5: How to make a signature board for under $20.00

on May 6, 2012

Hi everybody! I am aware I am a post behind at this stage. WordPress is finding my posts decidedly yummy and is eating them all! I will catch up, I promise!

Tonights post is about making a signature board for birthdays, weddings, anniversaries etc for under $20.00. I don’t know about you, but I’m a Scrooge and will find any way to save money on a product if I can ๐Ÿ™‚

When I was turning 21, I was looking for one of those key books that every signs for your birthday and then it sits in a cupboard until you throw it away. I wanted something a little bit more lasting and came up with this idea. The Total time that it took me and my dad was just under an hour (I love quick drying poster paint!)

This also explains the lack of photos in this post, as my 21st was over 4 years ago and I didn’t think that far ahead. My bad.

The awesome thing about this board is that you can hang it on a wall after wards (where mine has been since my 21st) so you can always see and appreciate it.

Because it’s so simple, it can literally be done in the hours before your party.

You will need:
1 x Large Plain Canvas. I got the biggest one available – $8.99
1 x large paint brush: $0.99
1 x bottle of black Poster paint – $1.99
1 x pack of fake flowers. I used Hibiscus – $0.99
1 x bottle of superglue. I got a pack of 10 for $1.99
1 x pack of silver and gold metallic permanent textas – 3.99
Total: $18.95
I got all my needs at a discount store such as The Reject Shop

First up, Paint your canvas completely in the black and allow to dry. I did this three times to make sure it was all convered. Make sure you do the whole sides as well, otherwise you will be mimicking me and adding paint while you’re trying to get dressed.

Once your board is completely dried, Affix your flowers on the borders or wherever you want to put them. I put one in each top corner, and one in the middle on the bottom.


Then, you do nothing. Your board is, quite literally, complete. See what I mean about quick and easy?

I had the board set up on a table with the two metallic permanent textas so people could write on it through the night. At the end of the night… well, the next day when my eye balls weren’t swimming in whatever the hell I was drinking… I was excited to read what people had put down for me. However, someone did write ” I love lamp” in a corner and I still do not know what it refers to, or who wrote it. Mystery is a good thing, right?

7 responses to “May 5: How to make a signature board for under $20.00

  1. tamika says:

    you could always use your trendy out door tabe with a couple of chalk textas and doodles your afternoon away

  2. Tara says:

    What a brilliant idea….!!!!

  3. THIS, my lovely, is decidedly fabulous!! Well done! These would sell you know……

  4. chops & pompy says:

    I love lamp is from the movie “anchorman” Steve carrell says it ๐Ÿ™‚ great idea btw

Have Your Rambling Say!

