Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

May 7: I learnt a new word!

on May 7, 2012

I love learning. I always have, I always will.

Over the last 15 or so years that I have been reading Anne of Green Gables I have always been stumped by the pronunciation of two places mentioned in the eighth book: Ypres and Presmyzl.

Today, my Caro-Mumma taught me how to say Ypres (Yay!), and it is nothing like the way I have been enunciating it for the last decade and a half.

Turns out, it’s not pronounced “Why-Prez,” “Ee-prez,” or “Idontknowhowtosaythatword.”

The correct pronunciation is actually “Eep”, as in long “E” and and a “P” on the end. I was a little shocked by the simplicity and how it is nothing like the name looks phonetically, but hey. I guess the locals know how to say it, right?

This led me to thinking about other words that I mispronounced as a child, and yes, an adult. The first one that springs to mind is “Neapolitan”, which is said like “Knee-Uh-Poll-Ee-Tun” but I still say “Nepp-Oh-Late-In.” “Helipairplane” was my way of saying “Aeroplane” and, of course, that standard “Bas-Ghetti.”

I swore my aunt’s middle name was “Batisha” instead of “Patricia” and “Bickies” was for “Knickers.”

I still confuse “Expresso” with “Espresso”, and I never say “February”, “Library” or “Klu Klux Klan” as I am meant to.  And, as always, I live in “Oz-stray-ya” instead of “Australia.”

I always add an “S” to anyway, I say “asterix” instead of “asterisk,” “et cetera” is always “ex-etchra.” “Preventive” apparently isn’t said as “Preventative” and “Tickalish” is just “Ticklish.” Who knew?

A saying that I never knew I said wrong was “Spitting Image.” Apparently, it is “Spit and Image.” (Ahhh, now I have taught you something!)

I will say, however, that I do not mis-pronounce Specific, Pacific or Fork.

What words or sayings do you confuse?

 

2 responses to “May 7: I learnt a new word!

  1. Maggie O'C says:

    I thought that determine was Deh – Ter- MINE and I thought Colonel was Co Lon Ell

  2. Ahahahahahah too cool Gert! I do not mispronounce words – unless they are in a foreign language lmfao… however the two which constantly piss me off when others say them are “Cock-A-Roach” instead of Cockroach and “Mis-chiev-ious” which is in fact “Mischievous” – pronounced Miss – Cheev – Us. I’m sure there are a ‘gazillion’ more!

Have Your Rambling Say!

