Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

May 15: My Top Ten Car Sing-A-Long Songs

on May 15, 2012

I am a baaaaaaaaaaaad one for cruising along in my car and singing along to my favorite songs. I am sure I have given quite a few people a giggle with my in-car singing and dancing antics.  I will, however, say that the constables aren’t a fan of it. Just ask my Mum!

So, here is my list:

#10 – Sweet Caroline – Neil Diamond

Come on, you know you did the “Bum, Bum, Buuuum” after that.

This song is a classic, and everyone in the world knows what follows the words “Sweet Caroline!”. This is one of my cruising down the highway loving life songs.

#9 – Bust It! Young MC

Classic 1989, Young MC made this single and it has had a long lasting effect. The lyrics are actually funny if you listen to them – unless you’re like me and too busy dancing at a red light.

#8 – Under The Sea – Ignatio Crustaceo Sebastian

I don’t care what any body says, this crab is the bomb diggity. Try and tell me you don’t sing along, even in your head, when this song comes on, and I won’t believe you. Yes, I am 25, but I will groove and belt along with this song no matter what I am doing or who I am with.

#7 – Big Girl – Mika

Arrrrgh, one of my anthems!!! I feel sorry for the poor sucker beside me if this song is on. It generally goes “OMFGILOVETHISSONGTURNITUP!” and I’m positively useless for the next four minutes.

#6 – The Gambler – Kenny Rogers

It’s The Gambler. ‘Nuff said.

#5 – Fast Car – Tracy Chapman

Who doesn’t love this song? About a young girl bettering her life (or trying to, anyway) this is a gorgeous song about self sufficience and doing what you have to do to survive. I can thank my mum for getting me into this one.

#4 – Cherry Pie – Warrant

OMG – This song takes me back to my first ever solo drive on my P’s. I had this Pumping in my tiny little Hyndai but I was rocking it like I was back in 1990! This is one of those songs that you can’t help but know the chorus… even if it’s from it being so repetetive.

#3 – Total Eclipse Of The Heart – Bonnie Tyler

Another song that every sucker knows, this is the ultimate in road tripping with your best mate and singing along. It doesn’t matter what you do or who you are with, this song will make you turn up the volume and cease all conversation for the duration.

#2 – Count On Me – Bruno Mars

I just love the simplicity of this song – all about friendship and nothing else. Aside from Mr Mars’ delectable voice, this ballad is perfect to send to your mates who are having a bad day… although I don’t advice sending the lyrics while you’re driving. Police don’t like that!

#1 – Cartoon Heroes – Aqua

As if those of you who know me didn’t know this would be in here.
Tragic? Maybe. My favorite song? Definitley!!! And when it’s live it’s even better. I tend to stop paying attention to my surroundings and I have been known to have to set a speedo-alert when this comes on.

What are your car songs? I want to hear them!!!

5 responses to “May 15: My Top Ten Car Sing-A-Long Songs

  1. Mum says:

    Anything 80s will do for me, or Mika or P!nk. These just make me happy!!!!

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      I refuse to listen to cornflake girl, that song gives me the irits. but most other stuff I will listen to. Accidently Kelly Street is also a fave!

  2. Maggie O'C says:

    Sweet Caroline! My sister and i were singing that over the weekend! No Stones? I love Bruno Mars…whatever that Step in Front of a Train song is.
    There was a comedian years ago who changed the words of Fast Car to “You’ve got a fast car. I’ve got a tarantula on my head.” hahaha b/c well um, you know, Tracy’s hair back then or maybe even now.

    Great post!

  3. if you could read my mind…

    i dont know where we went wrong, but the feelings gone and i just cant get it up…lol 🙂

  4. […] tie in with my post on my top ten car songs, I thought it would be fitting to regale you with my least favorite car songs. These are songs that […]

Have Your Rambling Say!

