Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

May 29: Why I love Instagram!

on May 31, 2012

Who here has heard of Instagram? It’s a photo-blog, similar to tumblr but exclusively for iPhones and Androids. Facebook recently bought it so I will assume that there will be some changes to it, soon.

I’m a bit of a snap happy person – I love photos and capturing moments that would otherwise go on unremembered.

Instagram is perfect for me because it means that I can shoot my pics and upload them straight away, without flooding my FB newsfeed, which is something I used to do all too often.

I am, however, snobbishly selective on who I follow. I only follow people who I know AND like (plus a few fellow bloggers as they make me laugh when I read) because, like FB, Instagram  does have a “photofeed” which shows you whats been uploaded and by who etc.

I am going to be all hipsterish and say I have had Instagram for months – long before it was cool. But, back then, it was as boring as dog poo because no one else had it! I like the fact that it is now a popular thing and I am able to interact with my friends and family on it.

Having my manicurist tag me in photos of new nails she has done, or seeing photos of her son (who is my Cheezy Poof) is always good, checking out the awesome shoes my sister posts which make me salivate is awesome, and getting a snap shot glimpse into peoples lives without the intrusive phone calls is handy!

(Note: Am I the only person who prefers text to calls? I always feel like I’m intruding when I make a call to someone, whereas with a text they can just ignore it.)

Instagram also has with it a set of handy-dandy filters which I love – it can turn any photo into an edited masterpiece, regardless of the photographers skill or desire. There have been more than a few occasions when I have employed the filters to make a boring photo more interesting – and I do love the ability to focus on one aspect of your photo graph and blur the rest!

To be completely h0nest, my Instagram is generally filled with photos of my cat and the weird stuff she gets up to (Crazy Cat Lady, anyone?) but interspersed with shameless selfies of myself – particularly when my hair is looking fiiiiiine. Chuck in a few random pics of my friends and I with doodle shaped balloon headbands and some kids rummaging through my skip  and you pretty much have my Instagram profile.

The only real downside to Instagram is that it is only phone-based – it means you can’t get on a computer to follow people, you have to do it through your phone, and you can’t upload pictures from a PC either – however, with the sale of it to Facebook, I don’t doubt that it will be remedied shortly!

Do you have an Instagram? What’re your thoughts or feeling on it?

You can follow me on the program by searching @ringlesswife – At this stage, I’m the only one who pops up!!!

2 responses to “May 29: Why I love Instagram!

  1. lmwills1 says:

    I love Instagram! I’m on there constantly, and I’m gonna follow you ^_^ great post.

Have Your Rambling Say!

