Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

June 1: When things are on the Tipayatung

on June 2, 2012

Tonight, I had a great couple of hours at my friend Rebecca’s house, playing a game with her and my other friend Joel. Joel has moved to Melbourne, about 3 hours away and tonight has been the first time in ages we have been able to chill, just the three of us, like old times.

Bec had pulled out the board games and one of them is the best one I have ever bought: Tipayatung. Can you say that? It’s pronounced “Tip O’ Ya Tongue.” and it’s a crack up.


Basically, you have to make your way around the board while answering lines to which the answers are on the tip of your tongue.


As you can see, there are four symbols on the board: a camera, quote marks, a koala and music notes. These correspond to to the quotes, nursery rhymes or songs you have to complete.


There are three levels: Green, then Blue, then Red. But, there are also Fate card which may change the course you’re on for the game – even if you’re on the final square!

The aim of the game is to answer all your lines correctly to progress, but to win you have to land on the final square and answer all four questions on a red card. But, to land on the final square, you have to exactly on it with your roll of the dice: If you are one spot away and you roll a six, you end up five squares away from the final spot.

Anyway, we spent two hours playing this game and cracking up. It was full of bad singing, dancing, looks of “omigodiknowthisquotehowdoyounotknowit?” and just plain old fun.

I have so missed playing games on our weekly “games nights” – I had forgotten how much fun it was just to chill and laugh with Bec and Joel. I enjoyed it 🙂

Other games I really enjoy are Scrabble, Upwords, and of course, the age old “Trouble.”

As you can see, it’s letter and word games that seem to grab my attention most.

I bought Tipayatung at Kmart, but you can get it online. I would highly recommend it, it’s a great game for a laugh!

All images from www.boardgamegeek.com because I sucked and forgot to take them. I was too busy singing lines from Born in The USA and Priscilla, Queen of The Desert. My bad.

Have Your Rambling Say!

