Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

June 14: The Grossest Foods in the world.

on June 15, 2012

Today while I was eating my lunch, Dan asked me what in the Sam Hill I’m eating because it smelled horrid.

I posted a picture on the Facebook site for Ramblings (which you can go to here) and it sparked some ideas of what some readers eat.

Some comments were deleted so I could fit this on my screen to PrintScreen it – if one of them was yours, I apologise, but I’m not that technologically advanced 🙂

Yes, I was munching down on a glorious feast of Party Pies with mustard – YUMMO!

As you can see, I had a few people tell me their favorites that aren’t on the “normal side” of the menu. (Note – you should all try the mint sauce and ice cream – it’s delicious!)

So, I decided that I would trawl the net to find you the most disgusting foods in the world (in my opinion, anyway.)

Yes, these are skinned rats, for sale on the side of the road in Vietnam. Considered a delicacy in some Asian countries, I would be hesitant to eat them.


See this? They’re tongues! I have nothing more to say on this except for “pass me a bucket.”


See this? It’s haggis. I hear you ask, “What’s haggis?” Haggis is a kind of savoury pudding containing sheep’s pluck (heart, liver and lungs — yeah, the stuff you feed your exhusbands and dogs); minced with onion, oatmeal, suet, spices, and salt, mixed with stock, and traditionally encased in the animal’s stomach and simmered for approximately three hours. Does it still look yummy?


How’s this for a health tonic? This is baby mice wine – big in China and Korea. It must go great with a spag bol. Bleurgh.


Now, most of us would recognise this lump from when we fed the pets, yes? Uhhh, No. This right here? It’s jellied moose nose. Get your chompers into this Alaskan delicacy.


Dear Ace Ventura: Thanks for bringing this to my attention.
Pepper corns they look like, pepper corns they ain’t!!! This, my dear ladies and gentlemen, is Guano. For all you normal people, it’s bat shit. Do you know what it tastes like? No, me either.


Quack, Quack, Quack, Quack, Quack, Do you want lemon with it? This is Balut. In my research it popped up everywhere! Basically, these are duck embryos left to stew in the sunlight for 8 days, then served with salt and pepper and a dash of lemon juice. Om nom nom nom vomit.

gross snack foods from around the world

Ladies! Want to boost your husbands fertility? This dish is thought to be great over in Taiwan. Just don’t tell him that you’re feeding him Rooster testicles, and you should be ok.

gross snack foods from around the world
The next time someone tells you to grab something by the bulls’ balls, I want you to remember this image. Waiter, I would like more Barbequed Bulls Penis, please. Hold the semen.

Now then. How hungry are we all?

**********************************************************************************************************************
I got these ideas and images off Google, but to specifically name websites in case you want to see their full lists :

Food Network
Cracked
Culinary Schools
Toptenz

9 responses to “June 14: The Grossest Foods in the world.

  1. No Thanks on all of the above – LOL

  2. Try rice milk. It’s disgusting, I took a sip then just about threw up. Gross 😦

  3. littletash says:

    Some of these look and sound horrendous 😦

    • Kloi-Jayd says:

      I think so too! When we went OS I tried some local foods (out of respect to the culture, I think it’s important) but I can’t say I would try any of these!

      • littletash says:

        Yeah, I guess it’s just what you grow up thinking of as normal, though. I’ve tried haggis and black pudding before, so those don’t make my list of yuk.

  4. Karl says:

    Haggis is nice id eat the others too apart from the duck embryo and the bat shit

Have Your Rambling Say!

