Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

July 10: Why I love Cherry Blossoms

on July 18, 2012

I have told you so much about myself – but I don’t think I have ever told you my favorite flower.

When I was younger, about 13 or 14, I remember walking down the main street and coming across a tree which I thought was gorgeous. It had pink flowers, smelled divine and was so pretty. I picked a bunch, and then picked one every day after that on my walk home from school.

They were so dainty and lady like – two things I am not. I loved to smell them on the way home, drinking in their scent.

When I smell them now, I have a reel of memories come through:

  • School
  • Blue Plaid Pants
  • Glad Wrap
  • Smiles
  • Walks With My Sister
  • Walks With My Friends
  • Running Around The Skate Park

Last year, we had two cherry blossom trees put in the front yard. They blossomed and then died off quickly, but for a little while, I would just sit at the front stoop and stare at them. I loved the way their scent went through my whole house, and would leave my front door open so I could smell it wherever I was.

Today, I learnt that their name is Sakura – and I realised I had never stopped to think about their scientific or official name . I always just called them “The Pretty Blossom Trees.”

I can’t wait for my two to blossom again. My pretty Sakura trees 🙂

Have Your Rambling Say!

