Ramblings of a Ringless Wife

Ringless Wife, Messy House, Cluttered Brain. All in a standard day.

July 17 : Ok, Winter. I’m over you now!!!

on July 24, 2012

Ugh. I am so over winter! Bulky clothes and cold nose, BEGONE!

Don’t get me wrong, I know as soon as it’s Summer I’m going to be one of those annoying people that’s all like “Awww Man, Give me back Winter, I hate Summer!” ra ra ra but right now, I don’t care.

I go to bed at night with three doona’s and a hot water bottle (who I have named Mavis, but that’s another story) and am usually still freezing. I wake up in the morning and count my toes, just to make sure none have fallen off. Then comes the ritualistic breaking off of the snotcicle – OK, slight exaggeration, but you get my drift – and it’s straight to the kettle for a hot coffee.

I miss Summer. I miss lazy afternoons by the weir with my siblings, and summer night swimming at my parents with my little sisters. I miss sitting on my back porch for hours at nice because it’s nice weather and I can enjoy it. I miss playing water fights and throwing water balloons at anyone who catches my eye.

Winter doesn’t do a lot for me at this time of year. When it first gets here I’m all “Wintahhhhh! Come at me bro!” and then come July and it’s just like I can’t get rid of it fast enough. I don’t know how people do it when they actually live in the snow. I would never be venturing farther than my heater! I may be fat, but I don’t like the cold. At all.

I miss my 3/4’s and my summer tops and big sunglasses and floppy hats. I just want to pick an article of clothing and wear it without wondering if I am going to turn blue or lose an appendage.

Ugh. Summer, Summer, wherefore art thou, Summer?

2 responses to “July 17 : Ok, Winter. I’m over you now!!!

  1. RoSy says:

    I like all seasons. But – sometimes some of them overstay their welcome.
    May you see your summer days soon!

  2. mum says:

    Hate winter, always have, always will.. HEAT is my friend.. xoxoxo

Have Your Rambling Say!

